Governance: the Paris Cathedral Fund

The Paris Cathedral Fund

Following the terrible fire of 15 April 2019, faced with the influx of donations, the Fondation Notre Dame created a “Cathedral Fund” within it to collect and isolate the tens of thousands of donations, from individuals and businesses alike, and even from communities, in France and around the world.

The Cathedral Fund has its own governance with a Board:

  • President: Robert Leblanc, Vice-President of the Fondation Notre Dame;
  • Evelyne Ratte, Honorary President of the Chamber at the Court of Auditors, responsible, within the Board, for the control and compliance of data collection;
  • Michel Picaud, President of Friends of Notre Dame;
  • Antoine de Salins, treasurer of the Fondation Notre Dame.

Director: Christophe-Ch. Rousselot, Executive Director of the Fondation Notre Dame.

In addition to the members of the Board of Directors, there are permanent members:

  • Jean Chausse, diocesan bursar;
  • Gilles Denoyel, general coordinator of the Cathedral.

The public institution in charge of the conservation and restoration of Notre-Dame Cathedral

The law of 29 July 2019 empowered the Government to create a public administrative establishment, placed under the supervision of the Ministry of Culture, responsible for ensuring the conduct, coordination and completion of studies and operations contributing to the conservation and restoration of Notre-Dame de Paris Cathedral.

This public institution was created on 29 November 2019.

Chaired by General Jean-Louis Georgelin, the public establishment met with its first Board of Directors on 2 December 2019.

Mgr Eric Aumonier, Bishop Emeritus of Versailles, represents the Archbishop of Paris on the Board of Directors of the public establishment responsible for the conservation and restoration of Notre-Dame de Paris.